When My Dad Calls

I hate to admit it–but I have suspicions that my dad thinks I am a jinx when I watch Ohio St. He called tonight and said in his fatherly tone. “Elizabeth are you watching the game?”
ME: I have Ohio St. on upstairs and LSU downstairs.
Dad: That’s not what I asked. Where are you now?
Me: (swallowing the truth) Ummmm (fine I can’t lie to Dad)
Dad: I see.
Me: Dad, I really wanted to watch this game.
Dad: What is the score, Elizabeth?
Me: I ‘ll just stick with not good.
Dad: I’ll just suggest you go downstairs.
Me: How am I the jinx?
Dad: Do you remember the Michigan-Ohio St game you watch?
Me: Dad that was years ago.
Dad: Who’s winning right now?
Me: I’ll change the channel.
Dad: Love you sweetheart
Me: Great I can’t watch the game but I am upgraded from being called Elizabeth to sweetheart. Love you too Dad
Dad: Remember…..
ME: Yeah, yeah, yeah I won’t peak.
Dad: I will keep you posted by text.
ME: Swell!
Dear Ohio State,
No need to thank me for your win tonight. Just thank my dad when he quits laughing because it appears he is right.

6 thoughts on “When My Dad Calls

  1. Good post. Interesting, but my daughter and I recall things differently. Besides, we were both channel hopping so we could watch both LSU and OSU. Bit she generally does jinx whatever game she watches.

Leave a Reply

