T’was My Night Before Christmas

T’was the night before Christmas and yet to be packed.
I look at the clock and wished it was cracked.
For the time was flying and all was a skewed.
I needed an angel who knew just what to do!
I looked to the heavens and saw in my sight a small little elf so brilliant and bright.
She made small sounds as she giggled and cooed.
The time that we spent was loving but few.
Her eyes danced like snowflakes..
Her coos just for me, but I feared suddenly all things including mistakes
With all her angelic might she fought off her sleep.
So snuggled and warm for the evening without even a weep.
She nestled her tiny head in the crook of my arm.
As if to say love should not bring me alarm.
By the grace of god this tiny elf
Brought me amazing joy in spite of myself.
For time is a number and sleep can wait.
To hold Savannah in my arms has been Christ’s Christmas fate.
As I felt her exclaim as her eyes closed in my sight,
Merry Christmas to all,
and to all a goodnight!
2 thoughts on “T’was My Night Before Christmas

Leave a Reply

