When it Matters Most

I normally like to start my posts with a glimpse of the past. Sometimes that cannot always be the case……

While I am watching the 54th Annual Grammy Awards, hearing LL Cool J starting it off with a prayer, for the sudden passing of Whitney Houston, it is fitting as it is eloquent.

To be able to freely open with a prayer is not only touchingly appropriate but also a treasured right that we hold dear. To pray openly for the tragic silence of a once magnificent voice beheld by a woman who had departed one journey for another is more than just beautiful, it is the right way to go about it, know matter what beliefs we hold for ourselves.

Prayer is the right gift for all in need.

This freedom is not one we ever really worry about, or should we? I guess in essence I know I had taken it for granted. To have this freedom, as guaranteed under our First Amendment seems that nothing could ever waiver in the one part of our political scriptures, The Constitution.

Yet isn’t this happening? Those who desire to remove God from the Pledge of Allegiance, the Ten Commandments from a courthouse and finally to force a mandate of contraception to a church that doesn’t allow this in it’s teachings.

If it isn’t clear on the contraception and the belief that the insurance will cover the cost and will now have no bearing on the Catholic Church, one must think again. From the charities to the hospitals of the Catholic Church, these entities are self insured by the Church. Thus still effecting the teachings.

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof…”

— The First Amendment

We have a right to practice religion, we can choose to believe or not and we can stop the government from impeding upon the religious community. For I fear if this message is lost and nothing is done now, the greater question is–will we be able to pray out loud in the future?

From the small darkness of my room as a child I would start my prayers as if I was writing a letter to the good lord. I would ask for the blessings of all whom I loved and for those I didn’t know. The Catholic Church and my parents taught me the power of whispering into God’s ear.

I learned faith can move mountains, touch those who never have felt his presence, bring people together and put hope where hope may have been lost. I have known many who have experienced this including myself.

For his love, faith and belief is deeply rooted in me and I don’t see this ever being diminished by anyone or thing. Because when it matters most God always makes his presence known.

14 thoughts on “When it Matters Most

  1. Well said. The moves by the current administration are not only a slam at the Catholic Church, but to all Americans. While we want to help the less fortunate, should we sacrifice our core beliefs, or is it better to help those less fortunate understand the limitations? I have heard it argued that we are all now Catholics and agree with this proposition, since a common goal or threat bring many together as one. It is truly sad that we have so many in this country that either want to control by giving or be wards of the state regardless of cost. It is our challenge to find ways to turn this tide back to the times of personal responsibility.

    • I think of this from your comments:
      Give a man a fish he eats for one day. Teach a man to fish he eats for a life time.

      Giving a hand up is always a much better way!

      Thank you for your wonderful comments!

  2. I don’t know what’s going on with this administration, but no experienced politician attacks his voter base in an election year. This attack on the Catholic Church is not an accident. It’s planned for some reason. Maybe a distraction? I don’t know. Stay strong. Pray while you still can.

    • I pray everyday! Strength comes from our ability to speak to and hear a higher voice from above.

      I am not sure either but listening to those who play conspiracy theory have some way out there ideas. But it makes you ask questions. Why not? we have that right.

      Thanks Jim for the comments!

  3. Very well said Beth!! The part about not being able to pray out loud has already happened all over our nation!!! Everyday we hear about one more event where prayer is not allowed. It has now run into the Pledge of Allegance and the National Anthem of our great nation!!!

    I never imagined I would witness this downfall in my lifetime…it breaks my heart.

    Oh and regarding LL Cool J and his prayer…I would love to have seen someone trh and tell him NO!!! Ha!! I love him!!

    • Ceci, always great to hear from you!! Yes too many attack those who believe. If we respect their right to not believe why are they compelled to take from us?

      PS I know I wouldn’t tell LL Cool J he can’t pray out loud. 😉

  4. I am speechless. That is the most beautiful thing I’ve read in a very long time. You are a special, unique individual and I couldn’t be more grateful to know you. I love mountain moving faith!! Thank you for sharing this with me and being in my Twitter World.

    • Thank you Candice! You have done so much to protect children’s right! You inspire me and you have made my twitter world a fabulous place, for I look forward to tweeting with a wonderful angel like you!!

  5. Excellent post Beth! The arrogance of Obama and his administration that they can force their world, political, health, and religious views on Americans is nothing short of astounding. His consistent end-arounds to circumvent the constitution show how dangerous a president can be who doesn’t believe our government and country to be what he wants.

    Keep up the great work!
    Sahib

    • Sahib,

      No truer words have been spoken! Your post keep me writing! And we can change this if each person realizes one vote can make a difference. The more we depend on Big Government the less rights we have!

      Thank you for your comments!

  6. Oh, This post should be everywhere to remind the country that we Christians have just as much right to pray as people of all these various religions we have been politically correct towards for years. We deserve the same priority, and God bless you for being a true light in the wilderness!

    • Dian, thank you so much for the wonderful comment! I am a firm believer in respecting freedom of religion and have study other faiths over the years. I think if you scan through the comments you’ll see one that says and I am paraphrasing in a sense , we are all Catholic now….
      Meaning we all need to protect our rights under the First Amendment. And we are united by recent events.

      Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

