5 Topics That Are Putting a Run In My Stocking

I just wanted to apologize for the really serene look of the blog and eventually when I get smarter at this I will change it.  If you like it thank you, but it won’t last.  If you are viewing from a mobile device you have no clue what I am talking about which is fine

Still, a soothing landscape  may be  just what is needed after all the silly things that have been happening.  If you don’t like the name of the blog, oh well it’s my blog.

Okay, enough schmoozing let’s get to the 5 topics that have managed to ruin a perfectly good pair of stockings from Walgreen’s.  So you know, if I had put a run in my high-end boutique pair I might have blogged in all caps.

Number One 

Gardasil:  This argument has finally died down, well until Thursday, when the next debate airs on Fox News (check local listings for times).  How many times does Rick Perry have to profess he made a mistake about how he went about handling the distribution of the HPV vaccine.  Issuing an executive order is wrong and forcing the issue of apologizing again and again is just plan idiotic. Done, move on.

Then you have Michele Bachmann using a suspected story of a woman telling her that her daughter had become “mentally retarded” after receiving the vaccination, in an interview on CNN after the debate.  Seriously, did the Congresswoman do a little fact checking in the 5 minutes before she was interviewed? 

Here are some questions I would like to ask:

A) Who was the woman?

B) Does this woman exist 

C) Why haven’t we heard of a massive law suit?

 That said, Congresswoman Bachmann did get a lot of attention for her campaign using this tactic.  She was hitting all the morning MSM shows and even made it on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno (he even questioned her tactics).  I like the Congresswoman but this just makes her look desperate and may hurt her in the end. 

There’s a woman who came up crying to metonight after the debate. She said her daughter wasgiven that vaccine.  She told me her daughter suffered mental retadation as result of that vaccine.

 —Michele Bachmann

 Fear mongering is just something I can’t tolerate (here’s the video;).  Congresswoman are you not smarter than that?  The issue was should government mandate and force vaccines of this nature, not scaring the crap out of every parent with a daughter.

Suggestion–Get the facts.  I have two daughters and there is no way I would ever support  getting this shot for them at 11.  Both girls were in their late teens or early twenties when they received it, without any side effects , I might add.  

Having the conversation with your children about the birds and bees is tough enough.  Kids on the playground have done better jobs explaining it.  Trust me when I tell you it’s even harder when they get older.

Be smart when you have this conversation it may not go in the direction you want.  When I tried, I got crickets, big blank repulsed stares from my girls. I wanted them to be safe from the ills of people, lies that can be told and rumors that are out there.  They wanted to crawl in the hole and not have that type of conversation. 

I went to my best friend who is a nurse for help. she tried talking to them as well.  If you guessed more crickets you’re right.  Finally, after much stressing and feeling my research was wasted, I wised up!  I schedule an appointment with the doctor to talk to them,  just talk.  My daughters asked many questions to my surprise.  

Truthfully, I was a little envious I couldn’t explain it to them as well as she did.  She gave the facts nothing more nothing less.  The implication of promiscuity wasn’t the issue, nor was it ever brought up.  She simply said she understood all the pressures that young women face today, it’s better to be safe than sorry. 

 We as parents have choices; 

  1)  To educate yourself on this first (for that matter any vaccination).

  2)  Make the best decision for your family with the understanding you have options.

  3) You still have to read all the material for yourself.
 

By the way, if you think guys are off the hook  with this vaccine:  Ahem–February 7, 2011, the first test trial for men began.  Just letting you know.  So enough of this discussion is enough lets move on.

Number Two

Mike Tyson, ESPN Radio and Greta vs Tucker Mike Tyson is a crass SOB.  The more the ESPN sports talk radio guys (I think at Gridlock) laughed, the funnier Tyson thought he was and he kept going.  Locker-room behavior should stay away from a live mike.  It was vulgar and drastically inappropriate and the blame goes back on ESPN and Tyson.  Why did Greta and Tucker have words?

 Well I think, not many people knew of the story until it went viral, (probably didn’t need to be revisited or reported), it just kept Mike Tyson in the forefront that much longer (ewwww).  Sarah Palin didn’t deserve it, and for that matter what woman does?Familar sites and sounds of high school. 

 Dumb guys making up stories about a girl in the locker-room and the editor of the school newspaper prints it as news of the day. For the first time in the school newspaper’s history everybody in town is reading the article and the class president goes into a rage because it is her friend they wrote about. 

 All the while, the person who has been the subject of the crass, vulgar article shows up to school and over looks the ramblings of the group. Which makes Sarah Palin the smart one.  Let it die and let it blow over and please stop giving these numb-nuts attention.

Number Three

BCS and League Jockeying:   Teams are moving from long time league associations, i.e. Pitt and Syracuse are leaving the Big East and moving to ACC. Texas A&M wants in the SEC, and more that I can’t think of at this hour of the night. Okay, sports fans your guess is as good as mine.  These moves are they academically related? 

Or are Colleges and Universities realizing that if they don’t draw attention to their schools through football (being in bigger league will help), enrollment will decline and budgets cuts will be steeper?  Do all these Universities know something?  are we looking at  a playoff system getting ready to be put in place with only a few big leagues left? 

Suggestion;  Just wait for it! Somewhere in a hidden NCAA bunker the decision has been made.  What it is, who knows?  Well we sort of do have an idea.

Number Four

Social Security the Ponzi Scheme:  Late Baby Boomers and early Generation Xer’s that are not retired yet;  Do you think all the money that you have paid in the program will be there for you?  I don’t and I was born at the end of 64.  If it’s not there after you paid into it, it’s a SCAM.  What makes anybody else think it will be there for us or the younger crowd as well? 

Suggestion;  You guys in your 20’s need to put 10% of your income and stick in a retirement program that grows with you. Yes, I know 20’s and fun go together.  Learn to have fun cheaper.  For those of us who have been paying into it F-O-R-E-V-E-R.  Kiss it good-bye and increase retirement savings  between 5-9% and hope for a better economy or else those angels that we all have raised will have us as a roommates.  If you think that’s a good idea, then think of this– did you really liked how they kept their rooms?  Be smart, and I know, I know– we got ripped off.

Number Five

Finally:  NFL FOOTBALL;  The Kick Off Rule. I hate it. 

However, I predict by week 4 it will be a moot point.  Kickers, the smart and savvy ones do not want a touchback anymore then the Devin Hesters or Joshua Cribbs who are returning them. Those Kickers want to nail it down to the one yard line.  They don’t want it coming out to the 20.

 With that said, players have proven they can work around it and each week it will get better or so I hope.  One teeny tiny gripe, NFL bonus coverage is ten minutes with commercials.  

That sucks.  I just had to get that off my chest.

Hey not bad for my first blog post, heh?  Thanks for reading, feel free to send me an email at silkrunnor@gmail.com, I tend to forget my password but at some point I will read it, promise.  Next time I might just use this word: Pleonasm.  Why? Because I can and I know we are all guilty of this from time to time.

Be Well,

Beth

3 thoughts on “5 Topics That Are Putting a Run In My Stocking

Leave a Reply

